top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLibby Maw

Is period plastic waste getting your knickers in a twist?

Hello everyone!! Long time no see, as per the usual, life has been a little crazy but now I've got a lot more time on my hands! As you make have guessed from the title this post is going to be about period underwear. I thought I'd give a little heads up just in case it's not your thing :D


Everyone knows periods and cramps are an unavoidable part of being a woman and since trying to change up my lifestyle to be more Eco-friendly, I have been massively conscious about how my sanitary products effect the environment.

Sanitary products for the most part come with a mass amount of plastic components including packaging, applicators and even the products themselves. It's not as simple a switch as with food where you can opt for loose items or choose to just not buy them. For most women pads and tampons are a necessity and not a thing they feel they can just not use.


Since starting I have always used some kind of sanitary product when I am on my periods. Although tampons are probably slightly more environmentally conscious as you are able to opt for the non or cardboard applicators, I as with many people am not comfortable using them. This meant I felt like I had no other option other than to use pads.


However, whilst scrolling through my social media I came across a advert for a company called Modibodi who create period underwear. I'll admit, at first i was massively sceptical, the thought of walking around without a pad kinda freaked me out. The worry of feeling unprotected for fear of an accident whilst going about your day has happened to everyone. But I decided to to take the leap and buy a couple of pairs. There are so many designs to choose from and each of them a have different absorbency level. This means you're able to find a pair that suits you and your cycle perfectly.

My first day using them was quite nerve wracking but I can honestly say that since using period pants I've had no trouble at all. They are comfy to wear, easy to clean and are a great way to reduce our plastic waste.


As always, if you have any questions about period pants don't hesitate!

Thanks for reading :)

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page