top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLibby Maw

My room is a jungle

Just to clarify this is not a post about the state of my bedroom though I will admit I'm not the tidiest of people. I realised, not long after the 'My summer obsession' post, that gardening doesn't have to be limited to the outside (obviously). Growing vegetables may be a little tricky but that doesn't mean all plants are off limits! They are great ways of opening up rooms and bring a bit of colour.

Since my decision to go into Botany as a career, I have spent a lot of my time filling my room with new plants or propagating old ones. This has really helped in learn about the different variations and how each require different things.

I do plan to continue my plant frenzy even though my room isn't the biggest. Since starting this project, I have genuinely felt better in myself. It is almost as if the plants absorbed the stress that I originally had. Sounds crazy I know but it's the only way I can describe it. I really recommend getting house plants to anyone, The feeling of success is amazing when you manage to keep your plants alive for a prolonged period of time. Trust me, I know. I remember getting a cactus off of one of my sisters a few years ago. This one sadly didn't make it but it shows that anyone can take care of plants if you put your mind to it!


I did read an interesting article online the other day about the rise in demand for house plants. It is amazing how so many people wish to increase how many they have in their homes as they are so beneficial. But the article continued to say how sometimes plants are flown in from other countries or have travelled quite a way to get to where they are. This threw me a bit if I'm honest since it really never crossed my mind but it makes a lot of sense. I will put my hands up and admit that I cannot say where all my plants have come from or what their carbon foot print is. However, now that I am aware I know that I will find out the origin of the plants I like before purchasing them. Either that or just try and grow them myself which sounds challenging yet exciting :)

If you wish to read the article let me know! I'll send you a link since it is pretty interesting to read!

As always if you have any questions then just message me on Instagram or email me! Also apologies for my absence! I promise I am going to keep up with posts now that I have all of my university stuff sorted.

Thanks for reading and have a good rest of your week :)

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page