top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLibby Maw

My summer obsession

Hi everyone! Hope you are enjoying the summer holidays or at least the warm weather, even though today is a bit grey and rainy. However I can't complain too much since my garden is in desperate need of some good rainfall. Which leads nicely onto the topic of today!



At the beginning of summer I found a love for gardening that I never knew I had. I say that because in previous years when I would try and grow plants...they usually wouldn't last. But when my sister planted some sunflower and tomato seeds for me I was determined! I thought this would be the year! And thankfully, I was right.


I grew so enthusiastic about growing these plants that I devoted a lot of time into making sure they were not over crowded in pots and that they were getting enough water. Obviously, it doesn't have to take up that much of your time but me being me, I saw it as a wonderful project I could really thrive in so I took the opportunity and ran with it.


Since then, I have been growing other vegetables such as runner beans, courgettes, peppers and even butternut squash! Some have yet to produce any vegetables but it certainly hasn't stopped them from growing like crazy. It has been such a great experience for me and I really recommend taking up gardening. I found it a great way to relax and get me outside. Also it forced me to get out of bed in to mornings to water them.

Another great bonus is that you wont need to buy certain fruits and vegetables! By growing them yourself, you know that there are no pesticides or chemicals used and also it has no packaging!

I do understand that some people may not have the garden space for growing large amounts of plants, but even plants that grow inside your house or on windowsills are a great option.



45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page